h1

Give up the anti-bacterial products, please.

February 1, 2009

I don’t use this space to take stands and I shy away from telling people what to do (but since readership is down, I’ll go ahead and have my little rant!). 

I really think people should put away the antibacterial soap and I have included a link to an article from the International Herald Tribune which says why. I especially hate when schools or public places insist that my kids use the stuff when I would rather they simply wash theirhands. Today’s society is overly dependant on antibiotics to the extent that we are abusing them.  We receive prescriptions for antibiotics when we have a virus.  We receive prescriptions for antibiotics but we don’t finish the prescription.   Finally, we use antibacterial cleansing products at will.  These three common occurrences are helping bad bacterias become resistant to our very  medicine for fighting them.  

http://www.iht.com/articles/2009/01/27/healthscience/snbabies.1-416618.php?page=1

Everyone should read this article. Since everyone will not – here are the points that I think are key:
1. “Children raised in an ultra-clean environment,” he added, “are not being exposed to organisms that help them develop appropriate immune regulatory circuits.”

2. “Ruebush deplores the current fetish for the hundreds of antibacterial products that convey a false sense of security and may actually foster the development of antibiotic-resistant, disease-causing bacteria. Plain soap and water are all that are needed to become clean, she noted. When no running water is available and cleaning hands is essential, she suggests an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.”

3. and for fun: “Also helpful, he said, is to “let kids have two dogs and a cat,” which will expose them to intestinal worms that can promote a healthy immune system.”

2 comments

  1. Wow I could have lived a life time without knowing about “intestinal worms” number 3!
    I don’t know about where you are but it is very hard to find a liquid soap here that is not anti-bacterial. What will they think of next?


  2. Here here! I read the same article in the NY Times about a week ago. I think Ava and Reid’s (though definitely more Ava) regular ingestion of mud and other unmentionable on the playground are really what keeps them healthy. That, and me often forgetting to ask them to wash their hands before we eat. 🙂



Leave a Reply

